tony branker: for the children
  • tony branker

  • for the children (LP)

  • sku: OSR071
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 18.90
  • $19.66


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Guerssen
  • Genre: Jazz

First ever vinyl reissue of this Spiritual / Modal Jazz private album from 1980, originally released on the RPC custom label from the US.

Including top modal tracks like "Do Dat" or "Circles", the terrific jazz–funk of "Unicorn" and more.

"For The Children" was written and produced by Anthony "Tony" Branker while he was a senior in the Princeton University Department of Music in 1980. It features Branker on trumpet, a young Stanley Jordan on guitar (this is his earliest recorded work), Glenn Cashman on alto, soprano and tenor sax, Gary Monhein on piano, Dan Krimm on bass and Jeff Penney on drums.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Circles 5:50
  • A2 A Dream Deferred 6:32
  • A3 You Can't Play In The Rain 1:31
  • A4 Unicorn 10:09
  • B1 For The Children 2:05
  • B2 Friendships And Rainbows 6:29
  • B3 Lift Me Higher 9:39
  • B4 Black On Black 2:51
  • B5 Do Dat 3:34