splinter: the place i love
  • splinter

  • the place i love (CD)

  • sku: GSGZ076CD
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 7.99
  • $8.89
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Grey Scale
  • Genre: Rock / Pop
  • 2017 CD reissue with four bonus tracks

Splinter were a two-man vocal group from South Shields, England, consisting of Bill Elliott (William Elliott) and Bobby Purvis (Robert J Purvis), who formed in the early 1970s.

They were connected with ex-Beatle George Harrison, and had groups of instrumentalists to back them on each album. Splinter was the first act signed to Harrison's Dark Horse Records label, when it was partnered with A&M Records. The band's sound has often been likened to that of The Beatles (particularly Harrison and John Lennon) and Badfinger.

The duo's biggest success came with this album,from 1974, which contains the hit single "Costafine Town".

Track listing:

  • Gravy Train
  • Drink All Day
  • China Light
  • Somebody's City
  • Costafine Town
  • The Place I Love
  • Situation Vacant
  • Elly May
  • Haven't Got Time
  • China Light (stereo single version)
  • The Place I Love (rough mix)
  • Gravy Train (rough mix)
  • Drink All Day (rough mix)