various: british psychedelic rock at the bbc 1967-1969
  • various

  • british psychedelic rock at the bbc 1967-1969 (2 LP)

  • sku: MV1007
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 24.99
  • $26.24
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Maida Vale
  • Genre: Psychedelic

Limited to 500 copies, double black vinyl edition released in a gatefold cover with pictures and line ups of ALL bands inside the gatefold.

A 120 minute/38 tracks collection not only offers an exeptional and often superior renditions of a tracks familiar through the band's original vinyl output, but also a plenty of cracking performances that they never recorded outside the BBC Maida Vale studios.

During the 60s and early 70s the BBC was committed to air a substantial amount of live music within its radio broadcasting and as a result, hundreds of popular or less-known British artists were employed to fill that standards. BBC Transcription Service used some of these sessions for promotional-only albums pressed on a weekly basis (supposedly in a quantity of 100 copies) and destined for radio stations all over the world. It was a vinyl LP with yellow-green record labels, housed in a rather plain, yellow sleeve and filled with paper sheets with song titles, time durations and a running order for the show. Most of the tracks included on this release came from long-running 'Top Of The Pops' compilation series (unconnected to the popular TV show) and short-lived 'Pick Up The Pops For Your D.J.’ LP releases, which took radio performances mostly from the prime pop shows of the time like 'Top Gear', 'Saturday Club', 'Sounds Of The Seveties', that aired live and specifically recorded music. All tracks were also adorned with a fresh commentary from (now legendary) DJ Brian Matthew.

Aside from BBC promotional discs, in a very few, fully justified cases an unique, home taped, off-air recordings were used.

Track Listing:

  • A1 –Eric Burdon & The Animals When I Was Young 2:59
  • A2 –John's Children Jagged Time Lapse 2:39
  • A3 –The Attack Come On Up 2:48
  • A4 –Tomorrow Revolution 4:08
  • A5 –Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich The Sun Goes Down 2:46
  • A6 –Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera All Along The Watchtower 3:13
  • A7 –John's Children Perfumed Garden Of Gulliver Smith 2:41
  • A8 –Grapefruit Breaking Up A Dream 3:16
  • A9 –Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera Somethin' Else 2:47
  • A10 –The Lemon Tree William Chalker's Time Machine 2:31
  • B1 –John's Children Hot Rod Mama 3:08
  • B2 –The Spencer Davis Group Time Seller 2:47
  • B3 –Grapefruit Trying To Make It Monday 2:55
  • B4 –Mabel Greer's Toyshop Images Of You And Me 3:57
  • B5 –The Spencer Davis Group Taking Out Time 2:39
  • B6 –Mike Stuart Span Children Of Tomorrow 3:16
  • B7 –Skip Bifferty Man In Black 2:39
  • B8 –The Marmalade Hush 2:53
  • B9 –Mike Stuart Span My White Bicycle 3:17
  • B10 –Skip Bifferty The Hobbit 2:20
  • C1 –Mike Stuart Span Through The Looking Glass 4:51
  • C2 –The Koobas First Cut Is The Deepest 3:32
  • C3 –Skip Bifferty Once 2:44
  • C4 –Herd Purple God 2:53
  • C5 –Episode Six Orange Air 2:34
  • C6 –Locomotive Mr. Armageddon 3:07
  • C7 –Herd You Don't Love Me 2:28
  • C8 –The Glass Menagerie Putting It Off Till Another Day 2:42
  • C9 –Mandrake Paddle Steamer In My Padded Cell 3:59
  • D1 –Locomotive I Am A Lonesome Hobo 3:30
  • D2 –Junior's Eyes Hang Loose 3:05
  • D3 –The Gun Take Off 2:52
  • D4 –Locomotive Fresh Garbage 3:41
  • D5 –Mandrake Paddle Steamer The Ivory Castle Of Solitaire Huske 2:57
  • D6 –Episode Six Alone Again Or 2:54
  • D7 –Plastic Penny Strawberry Fields Forever 3:53
  • D8 –Mandrake Paddle Steamer Cooger And Dark 4:00
  • D9 –The Pretty Things Alexander 3:02