don cherry: brown rice
  • don cherry

  • brown rice (LP)

  • sku: MJJ424CB
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 18.90
  • $19.25
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Klimt
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Brown vinyl

Brown Rice is probably the most accessible entry point into Cherry's borderless ideal, jelling into a personal, unique, and seamless vision that's at once primitive and futuristic in the best possible way. Its title track is a sensual fusion of various styles and sounds from the African, Indian and Arabic traditions. It also represents the spiritual multiculturalism that Cherry was interested in exploring during this creative period. With ex-Ornette Coleman cohorts on board – Billy Higgings on drums and Charlie Haden on double bass (also heard on electric) – the album (originally released in Italy in 1975) is a cult on its own.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Brown Rice 5:14
  • A2 Malkauns 13:59
  • B1 Chenrezig 12:50
  • B2 Degi-Degi 7:05