big star: nothing can hurt me (record store day 2013 exlusive)
  • big star

  • nothing can hurt me (record store day 2013 exlusive) (2 LP)

  • sku: OVLP61
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 27.90
  • $29.30
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Ace
  • Genre: Rock / Pop

"Nothing Can Hurt Me" traces the origins and history of the legendary band - from sixteen year-old Alex Chilton sky-rocketing to stardom in the late 60s with the Box Tops and their #1 hit, 'The Letter'; to the serendipitous meeting of Chilton and local Memphis singer-songwriter-guitarist, Chris Bell; through the tumultuous recording of the group's landmark albums "#1 Record", "Radio City", and "Third"; culminating with their implosion due to failed record sales, personal breakdowns, and the tragic death of Chris Bell in 1978.""


• Big Star's three albums (all of which charted on Rolling Stone's Top 500 albums of All Time) have become critically lauded touchstones of the rock music canon, and they are a seminal band in the history of alternative music, being cited as an influence by artists including R.E.M., the Replacements, Belle & Sebastian, Elliott Smith, Wilco, Beck, Jeff Buckley and the Flaming Lips, to name just a few. With never-before-seen footage and photos of the band, in-depth interviews and a rousing musical tribute by some of the bands they inspired, "Big Star: Nothing Can Hurt Me" is a story of artistic and musical salvation.""


• The Omnivore Recordings soundtrack captures the essence of the documentary and plays like an audio version of the film. It is comprised of all previously unissued versions of classic Big Star, Chris Bell and Alex Chilton songs, and includes demos, plus alternate original and new mixes made especially for the film.""


• For this special, limited, first-edition Record Store Day pressing, the double LP will be released on 180-gram RTI HQ translucent yellow vinyl. Mastering by Larry Nix at L. Nix Mastering. This project was overseen by the documentary's executive producer, John Fry, at Ardent Studios in Memphis.""


• A limited edition of 1500 ""


side one"

1. MY SOUL (Demo, 1973)""

2. GIVE ME ANOTHER CHANCE(Control Room Monitor Mix, 1972)""

3. IN THE STREET (Movie Mix, 2012)""

4. WHEN MY BABY'S BESIDE ME(Alternate Mix, 1972)""

5. STUDIO BANTER (1972)""

6. TRY AGAIN (Movie Mix, 2012) - Rock City""

side two""

1. MY LIFE IS RIGHT (Alternate Mix, 1972)""

2. THE BALLAD OF EL GOODO(Alternate Mix, 1972)""

3. FEEL (Alternate Mix, 1972)""

4. DON'T LIE TO ME (Alternate Mix, 1972)""

5. WAY OUT WEST (Alternate Mix, 1973)""

side three""

1. THIRTEEN (Alternate Mix, 1972)""

2. YOU GET WHAT YOU DESERVE(Alternate Mix, 1973)""

3. HOLOCAUST (Rough Mix, 1974)""

4. KANGA ROO (Rough Mix, 1974)""

5. STOKE IT NOEL (Backward Intro, 1974)""

6. BIG BLACK CAR (Rough Mix, 1974)""


side four"

1. BETTER SAVE YOURSELF (Movie Mix, 2012) - Chris Bell""

2. I AM THE COSMOS (Movie Mix, 2012) - Chris Bell""

3. ALL WE EVER GOT FROM THEM WAS PAIN (Movie Mix, 2012) - Alex Chilton""

4. ""SEPTEMBER GURLS (Movie Mix, 2012)""