the syn: original syn (1965-69)
  • the syn

  • original syn (1965-69) (LP)

  • sku: GUESS217
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 24.90
  • $26.15

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Guerssen
  • Genre: Psychedelic
  • Hard cardboard sleeve with artwork by Sara Gossett
  • Remastered sound
  • Insert with detailed liner notes by David Wells with an introduction by Phil Collins (a huge fan during their Marquee days), plus rare photos / memorabilia

A must to anyone into ‘60s British beat and psychedelia, here’s the complete recordings of pre-YES band THE SYN, featuring Chris Squire and Peter Banks.

Including their sought after mod-psych singles for DERAM ('Grounded', '14 Hour Technicolour Dream', 'Flowerman'…) plus a treasure trove of rare 60s recordings, including a five-minute rehearsal excerpt of stage favourite 'The Gangster Opera’, an earlier recording of ‘Flowerman’, a pre-Deram acetate of the unissued-at-the-time ‘Merry-Go-Round’, two tracks by pre-Syn band The Selfs and more. Also including are a couple of 1974 bonus tracks from post-Syn project Narsquijack.

Led by singer Steve Nardelli, The Syn formed in1966 initially as a mod / Tamla band. They soon embraced psychedelia and flower-power with some legendary theatrical shows during their Marquee Club residency. After a string of singles for the Deram label, the band slowly evolved into legendary prog band Yes.

Track Listing

    Side 1:
  • 1. Grounded
  • 2. 14 Hour Technicolour Dream
  • 3. Flowerman
  • 4. Created By Clive
  • 5. The Last Performance of The Royal Regimental Very Victorious and Valiant Band
  • 6. Mister White's White Flying Machine
  • Side 2:
  • Flowerman (Demo)
  • Merry-Go-Round
  • I Can't Explain
  • Love You
  • The Gangster Opera (Chorus / Legs Diamond / Reprise)
  • Sunset Boulevard Lament
  • Cadillac Dreams