various: british hard and heavy rock at the bbc 1968-1973
  • various

  • british hard and heavy rock at the bbc 1968-1973 (2 LP)

  • sku: MV1011
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 24.99
  • $30.08
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Maida Vale
  • Genre: Hard Rock

Limited to 500 copies, double black vinyl edition released in a gatefold cover with pictures and line ups of ALL bands inside the gatefold.

A 120 minute/26 tracks collection not only offers an exeptional and often superior renditions of a tracks familiar through the band's original vinyl output, but also a plenty of cracking performances that they never recorded outside the BBC Maida Vale studios.

During the 60s and early 70s the BBC was committed to air a substantial amount of live music within its radio broadcasting and as a result, hundreds of popular or less-known British artists were employed to fill that standards. BBC Transcription Service used some of these sessions for promotional-only albums pressed on a weekly basis (supposedly in a quantity of 100 copies) and destined for radio stations all over the world. It was a vinyl LP with yellow-green record labels, housed in a rather plain, yellow sleeve and filled with paper sheets with song titles, time durations and a running order for the show. Most of the tracks included on this release came from long-running 'Top Of The Pops' compilation series (unconnected to the popular TV show) and short-lived 'Pick Up The Pops For Your D.J.’ LP releases, which took radio performances mostly from the prime pop shows of the time like 'Top Gear', 'Saturday Club', 'Sounds Of The Seveties', that aired live and specifically recorded music. All tracks were also adorned with a fresh commentary from (now legendary) DJ Brian Matthew.

Aside from BBC promotional discs, in a very few, fully justified cases an unique, home taped, off-air recordings were used.

Track Listing:

  • A1 –The Gun Race With The Devil 3:27
  • A2 –Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich Mr. Soul 3:07
  • A3 –Jeff Beck Sweet Black Angel 4:40
  • A4 –The Edgar Broughton Band Why Can't Somebody Love Me 4:06
  • A5 –The Gun Sunshine 2:54
  • A6 –The Edgar Broughton Band For What We Are About To Receive 4:32
  • A7 –Episode Six I Am A Cloud 1:55
  • A8 –Griffin What A Day It's Been 4:45
  • B1 –The Glass Menagerie Do You Ever Think 3:31
  • B2 –Juicy Lucy Nadine 3:54
  • B3 –Humble Pie Big Black Dog 4:30
  • B4 –Trapeze Medusa 4:16
  • B5 –Humble Pie Rollin' Stone 4:49
  • B6 –Sunburst Cheese Wire 4:12
  • B7 –Savoy Brown Savoy Brown 3:58
  • C1 –Mick Abrahams Band Seasons 12:50
  • C2 –Bronco Well Anyhow 6:04
  • C3 –The Groundhogs Eccentric Man 6:11
  • C4 –Mott The Hoople Moon Upstairs 4:52
  • D1 –The Sweet Done Me Wrong All Right 2:43
  • D2 –Stray Sister Mary 3:05
  • D3 –Paladin Give Me Your Hand 5:59
  • D4 –Natural Gas How Long Were You There 3:56
  • D5 –Peace Heartbreaker 5:58
  • D6 –Thin Lizzy Suicide 4:02
  • D7 –Patto Loud Green Song 3:41