various: british progressive rock at the bbc 1967-1969
  • various

  • british progressive rock at the bbc 1967-1969 (2 LP)

  • sku: MV1008
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 24.99
  • $30.08
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Maida Vale
  • Genre: Progressive

Limited to 500 copies, double black vinyl edition released in a gatefold cover with pictures and line ups of ALL bands inside the gatefold.

A 120 minute/25 tracks collection not only offers an exeptional and often superior renditions of a tracks familiar through the band's original vinyl output, but also a plenty of cracking performances that they never recorded outside the BBC Maida Vale studios.

During the 60s and early 70s the BBC was committed to air a substantial amount of live music within its radio broadcasting and as a result, hundreds of popular or less-known British artists were employed to fill that standards. BBC Transcription Service used some of these sessions for promotional-only albums pressed on a weekly basis (supposedly in a quantity of 100 copies) and destined for radio stations all over the world. It was a vinyl LP with yellow-green record labels, housed in a rather plain, yellow sleeve and filled with paper sheets with song titles, time durations and a running order for the show. Most of the tracks included on this release came from long-running 'Top Of The Pops' compilation series (unconnected to the popular TV show) and short-lived 'Pick Up The Pops For Your D.J.’ LP releases, which took radio performances mostly from the prime pop shows of the time like 'Top Gear', 'Saturday Club', 'Sounds Of The Seveties', that aired live and specifically recorded music. All tracks were also adorned with a fresh commentary from (now legendary) DJ Brian Matthew.

Aside from BBC promotional discs, in a very few, fully justified cases an unique, home taped, off-air recordings were used.

Track Listing:

  • A1 –Terry Reid Writing On The Wall 4:23
  • A2 –Junior's Eyes Imagination 6:03
  • A3 –Mandrake Paddle Steamer Janus Suite 4:08
  • A4 –Windmill Rocky Racoon 3:18
  • A5 –Sweet Marriage Mort 5:45
  • A6 –Ora Sea Shore 3:05
  • A7 –Simon Dupree And The Big Sound Groundhog 3:14
  • B1 –Hardin & York David Difficult 6:07
  • B2 –Terry Reid Superlungs 3:26
  • B3 –Fat Mattress Mr. Moonshine 4:26
  • B4 –Griffin Shine 8:03
  • B5 –Sweet Marriage Titania 4:22
  • B6 –The Love Affair She's Not There 3:30
  • C1 –Quatermass Gemini 5:29
  • C2 –Manfred Mann Chapter Three Time 4:23
  • C3 –Galliard A Modern Day Fairy Tale 3:37
  • C4 –IF I'm Reaching Out On All Sides 5:34
  • C5 –Affinity Night Flight 6:08
  • C6 –Galliard I Wrapped Her In Ribbons 4:26
  • D1 –Walrus Never Gonna Let My Body Touch To The Ground 3:02
  • D2 –Sunburst Dicky Bird 5:33
  • D3 –Walrus Who Can I Trust 2:29
  • D4 –Gnidrolog My Room 6:25
  • D5 –Pete Brown & Piblokto! Aeroplane Head Woman 7:43
  • D6 –Fields A Friend Of Mine 4:22