renaissance: novella
  • renaissance

  • novella (CD)

  • sku: REPUK1145
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 7.11
  • $7.68

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Repertoire
  • Genre: Progressive

mini LP CD"

Music has charms and it certainly does when performed by one of the UK’s most charming and imaginative groups. Calling them ‘Prog Rock’ doesn’t really do justice to Renaissance, whose musical style blended elements of folk, classical, rock and pop, all in a tasteful and effective manner."

Here is the band in full flow on five elaborate compositions that span all the genres, as they give themselves free rein to extemporise, while retaining a strong melodic content. Here are arrangements like ‘Can You Hear Me?’ and ‘Touching Once (Is So Hard To Keep)’ that roam free for ten minutes or more. Interspersed with these blockbuster epics are more compact songs, such ‘The Sisters’ and ‘Midas Man’. "

This is classic Renaissance at work, featuring vocalist Annie Haslam in sparkling form and backed by regular members John Tout (keyboards), Jon Camp (bass), Terence Sullivan (drums) and Michael Dunford (guitars and vocals). Recorded in a London studio in late 1976, at the height of their popularity, this CD is a vital addition to any Renaissance collection. "

Track listing"

01. Can You Hear Me?
02. The Sisters
03. Midas Man
04. The Captive Heart
05. Touching Once (Is So Hard To Keep)"