janko nilovic: soul impressions
  • janko nilovic

  • soul impressions (LP)

  • sku: UR000161
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 23.90
  • $25.10

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Other
  • Genre: Blues, Soul, Funk, Rock / Pop

This is te cult album of JANKO NILOVIC, undisputed master of the music of the bookshop of the 70s, finally reissued in remastered version. A must!

Janko Nilovic, a Montenegrin-French composer, arranger, conductor, keyboardist, percussionist, vocalist and producer, born May 20th, 1941 in İstanbul, Turkey. French resident since 1960. He has published many works, most of them on library labels not available for sale to the public. His oeuvre stretches from classical, jazz, and funk to pop, psyche, and easy listening. The hip-hop producer Dr. Dre sampled much of Nilović’s piece « Underground Session » for his track « Loose Cannons » from the album Compton. Producer No I.D. sampled Nilović’s song « In the Space », for Jay-Z’s « D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune) », on the album The Blueprint 3.In 2010 Nilovic won a Grammy award for the rap song « D.O.A.(Death of Auto-Tune), » along with Shawn Carter, Ernest Wilson, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka, and Dave Sucky Sampled also by The beatnuts and Joey Badass.


Track Listing

  • Hippocampus 3:00
  • Open Country 1:46
  • Crazy Enterprise 2:00
  • Soul Impressions 3:22
  • Lettre De Mer 2:18
  • Drug Song 3:14
  • Man Of Genius 3:07
  • Push Push 2:12
  • Black Swan Lake 2:12
  • Lady Day 2:39
  • To And Fro 1:57
  • Family Tree 2:09