popol vuh: the essential album collection, vol. 1
  • popol vuh

  • the essential album collection, vol. 1 (6 LP)

  • sku: B405038463194
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 89.90
  • $99.48

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: SONY/BMG
  • Genre: Progressive
  • Box
  • sticker
  • original cover artwork
  • 3 posters
  • insert with detailed liner notes and photos

Founded in 1970 in Munich, Popol Vuh were pioneers of electronic music and progressive rock. They were the first German group to use the Moog-synthesizer and delivered music that could be broadly categorised as experimental, ambient, progressive and ethnic. The compositions often have a hypnotic filmic quality and indeed in 1972 they started a collaboration with film director Werner Herzog that saw pianist and keyboardist Florian Fricke writing soundtracks for some of Herzog’s best known films (resulting in several Oscar nominations). Fricke died in 2001, bringing to an end Popol Vuh.

Five albums have been remastered by Popol Vuh members Guido Hieronymus and Frank Fiedler. They are debut Affenstunde (1970), Hosianna Mantra (1972), Einsjäger & Siebenjäger (1974), Aguirre (1975) and Nosferatu (1978).

Affenstunde, Hosianna Mantra and Einsjäger & Siebenjäger are the first, third and fifth albums respectively, while Nosferatu is a 2LP set (hence six records for five albums) and features the two albums that were recorded for Werner Herzog classic film of the same name: Brüder des Lichts and On The Way to a Little Way. The other Herzog soundtrack is Aguirre composed for another cult classic (most of his films would fit that description!) Aguirre – The Wrath of God, the movie that features a memorable performance from Klaus Kinski playing Spanish soldier Lope de Aguirre, who leads a group of conquistadores down the Amazon River in South America in search of the legendary city of gold, El Dorado.

The vinyl is all 180g and feature original track listings plus bonus tracks. The outer box is spot varnished and these sets come with a six-page insert and two band posters.

Track Listing

    Affenstunde (1970)

  • A1 Ich Mache Einen Spiegel (Dream Part 4)
  • A2 Ich Mache Einen Spiegel (Dream Part 5)
  • A3 Ich Mache Einen Spiegel (Dream Part 49)
  • B1 Affenstunde
  • Hosianna Mantra (1973)

  • A1 Hosianna - Mantra: 1. Ah!
  • A2 Kyrie
  • A3 Hosianna - Mantra
  • B1 Das V. Buch Mose: 1. Abschied
  • B2 Segnung
  • B3 Andacht Pt.1
  • B4 Nich Hoch Im Himmel
  • B5 Andacht Pt.2
  • B6 Maria - Bonus Track
  • Einsjager & Siebenjager (1974)

  • A1 Kleiner Krieger
  • A2 King Minos
  • A3 Morgengrub
  • A4 Wurfelspiel
  • A5 Gutes Land
  • B1 Einsjager & Siebenjager
  • B2 King Minos II - Bonus Track
  • B3 Wo Bist Do? - Bonus Track
  • Aguirre (1976)

  • A1 Aguirre I
  • A2 Morgengruss II
  • A3 Aguirre II
  • A4 Agnus Dei
  • B1 Vergegenwaertigung
  • B2 Aguirre III - Bonus Track
  • Nosferatu

  • A1 Bruder Des Schattens
  • A2 Hore, Der Du Wagst
  • A3 Das Schloss Des Irrtums
  • B1 Die Umkehr
  • B2 Mantra I
  • B3 Morning Sun
  • C1 Venus Principle
  • C2 Mantra II
  • C3 Die Nacht Der Himmel
  • C4 Der Ruf Der Rohrflote
  • D1 To A Little Way
  • D2 Through Pains To Heaven
  • D3 On The Way
  • D4 Zwiesprache Der Rohrflote