the edgar broughton band: live... revolt!
  • the edgar broughton band

  • live... revolt! (LP)

  • sku: LCLPC5073
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 14.90
  • $15.65
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: London Calling
  • Genre: Psychedelic
    “Banned, shunned and arrested, the Edgar Broughton Band were the formidable forefathers of Stoner Rock and the proto-punk, three chord paradox, driven by passion, power chords and a conscience.”
  • Purple coloured 10 inch vinyl, in sleeve, with insert
  • Incredible performances live in London and Bremen
  • Includes BBC and Radio Bremen 1969/70 broadcasts
  • 2pp full colour insert
  • Informative liner notes
  • Archival imagery

The Edgar Broughton Band, live in Session at the Playhouse Theatre, Northumberland Avenue, London in 1969 and on ‘Beat-Club’, Bremen, Germany in 1970

Most retrospectives of the late 1960s and early 1970s musical counterculture tend to focus on the the pastoral underground that kept the spirit of folk Eden alive. What still remains unfashionably overlooked is the raucous reaction to the hippy idyll: those artists whose refusal to smoke the peace pipe was expressed in a more raucous and desperate form of heavy blues-aftermath rock, and in particular, from a British perspective. Of all the bands who sprang out of the creatively fertile period of the late 1960s was the politically enlightened Edgar Broughton Band. A riotous, righteous, Beefheart/Fugs-loving brigade formed by Broughton brothers Robert (aka ‘Edgar’) and Steve, with bassist Arthur Grant, in mid-’60s Warwick. Ladbroke Grove would never be the same. Banned, shunned and arrested, but undeniably motivated by a resonant ethical ideal that has outlived the cultural pop shifts that lived alongside. Live, the EBB were formidable giants of Stoner Rock and the proto-punk, three chord dimension, driven by passion, power chords and a conscience.

London Calling honourably presents a snapshot of live appearances from 1969/70 by this stalwart of the underground and icons of the counter-cultural idiom that strived for justice, peace and reason in a hostile environment; 70s Britain. Perfectly re-mastered original broadcasts with analytical liners and rare archival photos from the period.

Track Listing:

    Side A

  • Love In The Rain (Broadcast 28.03.1970) 7.34
  • Silver Needle (Broadcast 15.08.1970) 5.47
  • For What You Are About To Receive (BBC Session Broadcast 27.01.1969) 4.37
  • Side B

  • Drop Out Boogie (Apache Drop Out) (Broadcast 15.08.1970) 4.17
  • American Boy Soldier (Broadcast 28.03.1970) 6.29
  • Why Can’t Somebody Love Me (BBC Session Broadcast 27.01.1969) 4.01