hot tuna: live at new orleans house, berkeley ca, 9/69
  • hot tuna

  • live at new orleans house, berkeley ca, 9/69 (CD)

  • sku: FLOATM6313
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 6.99
  • $6.82

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Evangeline
  • Genre: Rock / Pop

Hot Tuna is an American blues band formed in 1969 by guitarist Jorma Kaukonen and bassist Jack Casady during a break from Jefferson Airplane while Grace Slick was recovering from throat surgery.

The band played several shows around San Francisco before Jefferson Airplane resumed. Their early repertoire was derived mainly from Airplane material and covers of American country and blues artists. The band's name came from someone Kaukonen refers to as a "witty wag" who called out "hot tuna" after hearing the line 'What's that smell like fish, oh baby,' from the song "Keep On Truckin'”.

This album is taken from concerts recorded at New Orleans House, Berkeley in September 1969. It was originally released as the band’s debut album “Hot Tuna” in 1970 and has become affectionately known as the "breaking glass album", because of the sound of breaking beer glasses which can be heard during "Uncle Sam Blues". Some tracks include Will Scarlett on harmonica.

Track Listing:

  • Come Back Baby
  • Keep On Truckin’
  • Death Don’t Have No Mercy
  • Winin' Boy Blues
  • Uncle Sam Blues
  • Know You Rider
  • Don’t You Leave Me Here
  • Never Happen No More
  • How Long Blues
  • True Religion
  • Sea Child
  • Candy Man
  • Keep Your Lamps trimmed And Burning