fraction: moon blood
  • fraction

  • moon blood (CD)

  • sku: ASHCD3017
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 6.99
  • $6.82
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Phoenix Records
  • Genre: Psychedelic
  • classic '70s psych album
  • featuring the original die-cut cover with red acetate and printed inner bag
  • 1000 only - numbered limited edition

"The underground heavy psych monster to conquer them all!" - Acid Archive

"Lovers of fuzz drenched psychedelia will go crazy over this one" - All Music Guide

When Moon Blood was originally released in 1971 only 200 copies were pressed so originals are worth a small fortune.

Fraction, with vocalist Jim Beach bearing an uncanny resemblance to Jim Morrison (although he was singing on Sunset Strip long before Morrison took to the stage), were often compared favourably with the Doors, although their quasi-religious message would probably not have found favour with the recently-departed Morrison. Indeed, this rather fine record was once famously described as the album the Doors probably wished they’d made!

Underpinned by guitarist Don Swanson’s superb Ritchie Blackmore-style guitar work, this is an album full of beautiful psychedelia, acid and hard rock, at once emblematic of the era but not dated by its association. The five original compositions are consistently of the highest quality and the contribution of Beach’s Morrison-esque vocals places a stamp of originality on the recording that endures from beginning to end. A truly excellent album.

Track listing:

  1. Sanc-Divided
  2. Come Out of Her
  3. Eye of the Hurricane
  4. Sons Come to Birth
  5. This Bird
  6. Sky High

At last an official CD issue, of this KILLER early '70s US Acid Rock monster. Jim Morrison like vocals and searing acid guitar make this a classic of the era that has long been sought after by collectors.

Recorded at Whitney Recording Studio. Originally released in 1971 on the Angelus label.

  • Jim Beach: Lead Vocals
  • Don Swanson: Lead Guitar
  • Curt Swanson: Percusion
  • Victor Hemme: Bass Guitar
  • Mike Hodges: Cover Artist
  • Robert Meinel: Rhythm Guitar