night sun: mournin'
  • night sun

  • mournin' (LP)

  • sku: HR2949
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 19.90
  • $20.90
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Hobbit Records
  • Genre: Progressive

Night Sun's origins lay in the late-60's jazz band Take Five who were popular in the Rhine Neckar Area of Germany. Night Sun were a German heavy prog/metal band consisting of Bruno Schaab (vocals, bass), Walter Kirchgassner (guitar), Knut Roessler (organ, piano, trumpet, bassoon) and Ulrich Staudt (drums). Their only album, Mournin', was released in 1972 on Polydor's Zebra label. Schaab's vocals recalled the screams of Ian Gillan from Deep Purple. The group played a loud, Deep Purple/Black Sabbath/Led Zeppelin style rock, with a characteristic "heavy progressive" instrumentation of twin guitars, organ, bass and drums. The album was produced by Konrad Plank (whose production credits include Kraftwerk's early output and Ash Ra Tempel) at the Windrose Studio, Hamburg. With their sudden shifts of rhythm structures, guitar-with-organ riffing style and some studio effects, particularly phasing, Night Sun fortunately never went too close to the ordinary boogie and rock'n'roll trap. Their sound consisted of many elements, all of which will be of interest to fans of Thrash, Stoner, Doom, Power and Prog Metal, and their 1970s roots.

Track listing:

  • A1 Plastic Shotgun 2:34
  • A2 Crazy Woman 4:22
  • A3 Got A Bone Of My Own 7:45
  • A4 Slush Pan Man 4:25
  • B1 Living With The Dying 5:31
  • B2 Come Down 5:48
  • B3 Blind 4:24
  • B4 Nightmare 3:16
  • B5 Don't Start Flying 3:07