orang-utan: orang-utan new edition
  • orang-utan

  • orang-utan new edition (LP)

  • sku: SOMM014
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 24.90
  • $26.15

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Guerssen
  • Genre: Hard Rock, Psychedelic

NEW REPRESS IN HARD CARDBOARD SLEEVE + OBI + RESEALABLE OUTER SLEEVE. Orang-Utan were in fact a London based band called Hunter, featuring vocalist Terry “Nobby” Clarke (of psych-pop legends Jason Crest), guitar player Mick Clarke, drummer and songwriter Jeff Seopardi and bass player Paul Roberts. They recorded their sole album in 1971 and DeLane Lea studios. In a bizarre twist of events, their producers / managers ran with the tapes to the US, where they placed the album on Bell Records under a new band name: Orang-Utan, without telling any of the band members.

A lost classic of blazing, early hard rock with minor psychedelic hangover vibes, a twin-guitar attack, and waves of fuzz/wah, along with powerful vocals. Think Leaf Hound, Budgie, Bang, Sir Lord Baltimore, Hard Stuff…

First ever legit reissue done in co-operation with the original band members.

Insert with liner notes by Jeremy Cargill (Ugly Things / Got Kinda Lost), telling the bizarre story of the band for the first time, and rare photos.

“Quintessentially British hard-rock, transforming the blues in a way American bands rarely did, and with a kind of vocal intensity that compares to Free, Humble Pie et al” - Aaron Milenski (Galactic Ramble)

Track Listing:

  1. I Can See Inside Your Head
  2. Slipping Away
  3. Love Queen
  4. Chocolate Piano
  5. If You Leave
  6. Fly Me High
  7. Country Hike
  8. Magic Playground