meic stevens: outlander
  • meic stevens

  • outlander (LP)

  • sku: BRC027
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 22.90
  • $25.49

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Other
  • Genre: Psychedelic

lABEL: blanc

  • insert with lyrics

Vinyl reissue of one of the most acclaimed acid-folk LP's from the early '70s.

Meic Stevens may not be a familiar name in much of the world, but in his native Wales the singer-songwriter's stature is often compared to that of Bob Dylan. He was a local legend whose psych-folk influence can be heard in such contemporary Welsh groups as Super Furry Animals and Gorky's Zygotic Mynci. His one English-language album is this 1970 Outlander, an outstanding marriage of musicianship and eclecticism. Its jazz-Indo-psych ragas merge seamlessly with its acid folksongs and Dylan-esque meditations on relationships and politics. Performed by a remarkable cast of musicians hand-picked by English rock tastemaker Ian Samwell, Outlander was created with a minimum of rehearsal and consists largely of first takes.

Track listing:

  • A1 Rowena
  • A2 Love Owed
  • A3 Left Over Time
  • A4 Lying To Myself
  • A5 The Sailor And Madonna
  • A6 Oxblood
  • B1 Yorric
  • B2 Midnight Comes
  • B3 Ghost Town
  • B4 Dau Rhosyn Coch
  • B5 Ballad Of Old Joe Blind