Our e-shop is fully operational during these difficult days.

#stay_home #stay_safe

howlin' wolf: the howlin' wolf's new album
  • howlin' wolf

  • the howlin' wolf's new album (LP)

  • sku: GEF54048
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 21.50
  • $24.28


  • Format: LP
  • Label: LP - US Imports
  • Genre: Blues, Soul, Funk, Psychedelic

It's not often that an album disavowed by its own author at the time of release goes on to become considered a modern classic. Yet that's exactly what happened with Chicago blues legend Howlin' Wolf's 1969 LP The Howlin' Wolf Album, a release that has since attained mythical status due to the controversy behind it.

Released on Cadet Records, a subsidiary of legendary imprint Chess Records, The Howlin' Wolf Album was a radical experiment for a well established artist: attempt to integrate electric instruments and psychedelic arrangements into his revered signature blues sound.

The result was an album that Wolf himself initially disregarded on the now infamous cover, but one that has won a special place amongst dedicated music aficionados thanks to its unique mix of traditional blues and electric rock elements.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Howlin' Wolf - Spoonful 3:48
  • A2 Howlin' Wolf - Tail Dragger 4:20
  • A3 Howlin' Wolf - Smokestack Lightning 5:54
  • A4 Howlin' Wolf - Moanin' At Midnight 3:13
  • A5 Howlin' Wolf - Built For Comfort 5:07
  • B1 ? & The Mysterians - "8" Teen
  • B2 ? & The Mysterians - Don't Tease Me
  • B3 ? & The Mysterians - Don't Break This Heart Of Mine
  • B4 ? & The Mysterians - Why Me
  • B5 ? & The Mysterians - Midnight Hour
  • B6 ? & The Mysterians - 96 Tears