blues creation: demon and eleven children
  • blues creation

  • demon and eleven children (CD)

  • sku: BAMCD7001
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 6.99
  • $7.34

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Bamboo
  • Genre: Psychedelic

Demon & Eleven Children is a formidable document of its ilk by any measure — Japanese or global — as it harnessed Takeda's previous international experience and recent Black Sabbath fascination into a monumentally wasted musical death-in allmusic.com No. 17 in Julian Cope's Japrocksampler top 50

Blues Creation was formed by guitarists Kazuo Takeda, Koh Eiryu and singer Fumio Nunoya, in early 1969, after the dissolution of their Group Sounds outfit The Bickies. Highly influenced by Cream and The Yardbirds, Takeda joined forces with school friends Takayuki Noji, Shinichi Tashiro, and lead singer Fumio Nunoya. Formerly vocalist with Taboo, a heavy band led by future Happy End guitarist Eiichi Otaki, Nunoya was also searching for an even heavier sound, and the results of the new American-influenced experiment were released in October 1969, as Blues Creation.

Singer Fumio Nunoya soon found himself edged out of artistic decisions by the supremely confident Takeda, and thereafter left to form his own band Dew. Whilst searching around throughout 1970 for a new singer, guitarist Takeda heard the new even more strung out music of Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Eric Clapton's solo LP CLAPTON, and Leslie West's Mountain, and decided he should take the opportunity to start again from scratch. Takeda enlisted bassist Masashi Saeki and drummer Akiyoshi Higuchi for the new line-up, and eschewed the previous covers style in favour of his own compositions. With the new Blues Creation fronted by singer Hiromi Osawa, Kazuo Takeda recorded what has come to be regarded as his masterpiece in the form of DEMON & ELEVEN CHILDREN.

This album was recorded at the Japan Folk Jamboree, and is a full-on gem of a record, but Takeda was now widely known as a true Japanese guitar hero, and - as ever - had set his sights higher and higher. He split Blues Creation the following year, leaving for London in late 1972.

Track Listing:

  • Atomic Bombs Away
  • Mississippi Mountain Blues
  • Just I Was Born
  • Sorrow
  • One Summer Day
  • Brain Buster
  • Sooner Or Later
  • Demon & Eleven Children