akira ishikawa & count buffaloes: uganda (dawn of rock) - replica box
  • akira ishikawa & count buffaloes

  • uganda (dawn of rock) - replica box (LP)

  • sku: MRBLP239
  • Condition: Brand New Forthcoming Release
  • 41.90
  • $40.88
  • You cannot include this item in your order, as the next shipment from the label is expected in less than 15 days from now, or is not yet scheduled. However, you may put it in your Reserve List. In that case, we will order it for you and will notify you by email, about the next scheduled shipment


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Mr Bongo
  • Genre: Blues, Soul, Funk

Special edition in replica of the original boxset version.

The respected Japanese jazz drummer Akira Ishikawa was not messing around when he recorded the 'Uganda (Dawn of Rock)' album with his band the Count Buffaloes. For this offering, originally released in 1972 on Toshiba Records, Akira Ishikawa takes us on a deep tripped-out journey. 'Uganda (Dawn of Rock)' is a fusion of progressive and psych rock with African percussion workouts, dergy-wah wah blues-funk, and jazzy sensibilities; with different genres morphing and uniting as they progress.

A long way from his funk and afrobeat album 'Back To Rhythm’, re-issued on Mr Bongo in 2019, this record has a darker, deeper, abstract and experimental stoned tone with the listener being pulled into its vortex for the ride. This record doesn’t pull any punches.

For this album, Akira is joined by Hideaki Chihara on bass, guitarist Kimio Mizutani, sounding at times like an early 70s Peter Green, percussionist Larry Sunaga and composer Takeru Muraoka.

The album has become highly sought-after amongst psych, prog and acid rock collectors and due to the rare nature of original copies they come at a hefty price tag.

Track Listing

  • A1 Wanyamana Mapambazuko 11:37
  • A2 Na Tu Penda Sana 9:21
  • B1 Vita 7:40
  • B2 Pygmy 7:46