demon fuzz: afreaka!
  • demon fuzz

  • afreaka! (LP)

  • sku: MOVLP1935
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 20.50
  • $23.78

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Music On Vinyl
  • Genre: Progressive
  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl

Demon Fuzz was an afro-rock group of which its members had all immigrated to Britain from the Commonwealth countries. The band's name means "devil's children or bad policemen". They originally played soul, but the music they heard during a trip to Morocco lead to a change in their style to what has been described as a blend of funk, rock, jazz and African music.

Released in 1970, Afreaka!, demonstrates their excellence in playing psychedelic soul, dub-heavy funk, progressive rock, afro-jazz and black acid rock. Demon Fuzz these days are amongst the most bootlegged and sampled bands from the early 70s British underground.

All tracks were credited to Ray Rhoden and W. Raphael Joseph, except for the second track, which was credited to W. Mitchel and Paddy Corea. Corea was also credited with "all arrangements".

It was a Billboard "4-STAR" selection in June 1971.

Track Listing:

    Side A

    • Past, Present And Future
    • Disillusioned Man
    • Another Country

    Side B

    • Hymn To Mother Earth
    • Mercy (Variation No. 1)