mayfly: mayfly
  • mayfly

  • mayfly (LP)

  • sku: VP99045
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 19.90
  • $19.42
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Pseudonym
  • Genre: Progressive
  • Exclusively restored dynamic 24 bit remastering from the original master tapes
  • LP high quality 180 gram audiophile pressing
  • Deluxe 350 gram carton gatefold sleeve
  • Rare archival photos included
  • Liner Notes by Mike Stax / Ugly Things

Like the insect that gave them their name, the Dutch group Mayfly existed for just a short while before disappearing. In their brief lifespan, though, they recorded one truly magical and timeless album, along with a handful of singles, all beautifully crafted and imbued with beguiling atmospheres and melodies. Formed in the late 60s in the northern coastal town of Bergen, Mayfly recorded their self-titled album for Ariola in 1973, working with Wally Tax's producer Martin Duiser.

The album now sees its first ever vinyl reissue, dynamically remastered from the original master tapes and pressed on 180gm vinyl. The original cover artwork has been expanded into a gatefold featuring rare photos and liners notes by Mike Stax with input from the original band members. The album is an enticing blend of folk-rock and psychedelic pop with shades of the Idle Race, the Kinks, Fairport Convention and the Beatles. This reissue features two bonus tracks, the non-LP single Skew-eyed Jimmy and the alternate 45 version of the groups first single, that jaunty, Ray Davies-inspired Blue Sofa.

Track Listing:

Chapter A

  1. From Now On 4:46
  2. Symptoms Of Summer 4:00
  3. Dawn Of An Old Man's Life 3:01
  4. The Smell Of It 3:07
  5. Lemon Cake 4:13
  6. Blue Sofa 2:34 - single version

Chapter B

  1. The Stable 3:08
  2. Intermezzo 1:08
  3. Second-hand Dream 3:34
  4. Blue Sofa 2:59
  5. She Leaveth Me 3:06
  6. Topless Bertha 3:32
  7. Skew-eyed Jimmy 3:08