emmylou harris & the hot band: amazing grace coffeee house evanston il 15 may 1975
  • emmylou harris & the hot band

  • amazing grace coffeee house evanston il 15 may 1975 (CD)

  • sku: ECHOCD2020
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 7.99
  • $7.80


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Echoes
  • Genre: Rock / Pop
  • Classic performance at The Amazing Grace Coffee House, Evanston, IL 15th May 1973
  • Includes the entire WXRT-FM broadcast
  • Digitally remastered for greatly enhanced sound quality
  • Background liners

1975 was a bold and exciting time for Emmylou Harris whose career itself was burgeoning with the release of Pieces Of The Sky, her first album in five years since the appearance of her debut Gliding Bird with Jubilee.

A revised energy with Reprise would inspire a third album in Elite Hotel recorded in June 1975 and released in December that year. Her appearance at The Amazing Grace Coffee House in May 1975 would unsurprisingly comprise of material borrowed form her two 1975 albums.

From the very beginning, Harris set high standards for herself as well as the musicians she would work with. Her integrity, artistic ability and great diversity led the way to her transcending the country rock genre and becoming so widely appealing and universally respected by fellow artists and music fans alike. Her Amazing Grace Coffee House appearance in May 1975 captures Harris at her peak.

Many of the most enduring songs from both of her 1975 albums are featured in her sets at this time. Her interpretations of highly recognizable country standards, such as Buck Owens' Together Again, Hank Williams' Jambalaya and Merle Haggard's 'Tonight the Bottle Let Me Down' all compare favourably with the originals, proving that Harris was quite capable of taking a classic and making it her own.

Echoes proudly present Emmylou Harris' May 1975 performance at The Amazing Grace Coffee House, Evanston, Il, Broadcast on WXRT-FM.

Professionally re-mastered sound with background liners and rare photos.

Track Listing:

  • Cash On The Barrel Head
  • That's All It Took
  • My Blue Ridge Mountain Boy
  • Feelin' Single Seein' Double
  • Together Again
  • Wheels
  • Bluebird Wine
  • Band Intros
  • Bottle Let Me Down
  • Hot Burrito No.2
  • Ooh Las Vegas
  • Rock N' Roll Music
  • Sleepless Nights
  • Queen Of The Silver Dollar
  • Jambalaya
  • Instrumental - Your Cheatin' Heart
  • Too Far Gone