ananda shankar: ananda shankar and his music
  • ananda shankar

  • ananda shankar and his music (LP)

  • sku: TGT436
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 12.90
  • $13.96

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Merlins Nose Records
  • Genre: Psychedelic
  • limited edition

Label: The Great Thunder

This genre-busting 1975 album seamlessly fuses the traditional music of Ananda Shankar s homeland, India, with the heavy psych-funk of the West, where he had spent a good deal of time. Featuring the dancefloor killers Streets Of Calcutta and Dancing Drums alongside a handful of mellower tracks, the original, India-only LP has long been one of the worlds most sought-after records.

Track Listing

  • A1 Streets Of Calcutta 4:38
  • A2 Cyrus 2:43
  • A3 The Lonely Rider 2:10
  • A4 The River 3:04
  • A5 Vidai (Parting) 2:51
  • A6 Back Home 4:34
  • B1 Dawn 11:45
  • B2 Renunciation 4:22
  • B3 Dancing Drums 5:19