nirvana: dedicated to markos lll (a.k.a. black flower) bonus 7
  • nirvana

  • dedicated to markos lll (a.k.a. black flower) bonus 7" (LP)

  • sku: LPS245
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 27.90
  • $29.30
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Wah Wah
  • Genre: Rock / Pop, Psychedelic

Nirvana's third LP is a masterpiece of late UK sixties popsike turning into symphonic pop, but not having received proper promotion despite being equally good as, if not better than their previous releases, it also marked the end of the collaborations between Patrick Campbel-Lyons and Alex Spyropoulos back in 1969.

Nirvana presented it to Island boss Chris Blackwell under the title of Black Flower. Blackwell, however, decided to turn it down for release, but gave the masters to Campbell-Lyons and Spyropoulos so they could find a new label to release the album. That was to happen in the USA through Metromedia Records in 1969. At that time, the label's owner went through a scandal due to the payola days, which left Nirvana's third offering without any promotion - as a result of that, very few copies were pressed. There was also a UK release on PYE and it was even released by Metromedia in Japan. However, for years it remained as "the lost" Nirvana release, with the added fact that none of the released editions launched the album under its original title of Black Flower but under the rather cryptic Dedicated To Markos II (read why in the liner notes!).

Musically, this is Nirvana at their best. The tune that should have been the title track, Black Flower, is an incredible piece of symphonic psychedelia and probably the best produced Nirvana track ever. Campbell-Lyons and Spyropoulos were backed for the occasion by Spooky Tooth, who played on many tracks of the album, and big orchestral arrangements mesmerize the listener in one of the duo's darkest offerings. This song aside, the rest of the album was deemed as sounding too much like a French soundtrack by Island, which may do at some points –without that being a bad thing,– but there is a lot more to it, since Nirvana have not lost that popsike edge that characterised their sound in their two previous outings.

This is also a record that was widely acclaimed in the hip hop scene. And samplers of it have been used by several artists, most notably DJ Shadow used Love Suite in his 1996 debut album Endtroducing.

The Wah Wah edition has been remastered from the original tapes by Roger Prades @ Prades Mastering and comes with a bonus 7" EP and a four page colour insert with liner notes by Malcom Dome, plus a sheet with the lyrics of the songs. First ever official vinyl reissue since 1970 in a limited edition of 500 copies only!

Track Listing

  • A1 The World Is Cold Without You 3:42
  • A2 Excerpt From "The Blind & The Beautiful" 2:38
  • A3 I Talk To My Room 3:35
  • A4 Christopher Lucifer 4:04
  • A5 Aline Cherie 3:00
  • B1 Tres, Tres Bien 2:52
  • B2 It Happened Two Sundays Ago 3:07
  • B3 Black Flower 4:30
  • B4 Love Suite 6:00
  • B5 Illinois 3:38
  • C1 We Can Make It Through
  • C2 Love Suite Take 2
  • D1 June