dr. kay's blues band: dr. kay's blues band
  • dr. kay's blues band

  • dr. kay's blues band (CD)

  • sku: PTCD8012
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 6.99
  • $7.34

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Prog Temple
  • Genre: Progressive

Named after pianist Rick Kay, this North London band featured Fairport Convention's Ashley Hutchings in its first line-up. By 1967 they were one of the busiest bands on the burgeoning British blues scene, playing up and down the country (as well as on the continent) and sharing stages with underground stars such as Pink Floyd and Tyrannosaurus Rex. Their sole album was taped in the autumn of 1968, and produced by Peter Eden (who'd overseen Donovan's early sessions). A superb set of Chicago-style blues with fine slide guitar and boogie-woogie piano, it makes its long-overdue return to CD here.

Track Listing:

  1. I Can't Lose 2:45
  2. Walking 3:25
  3. Key To The Highway 2:06
  4. Crippled Clarence 2:00
  5. Pet Cream Man 6:23
  6. Messin' With The Kid 2:42
  7. Don't Quit The Man You Love For Me 2:22
  8. Rolty's Banjo Shuffle 2:06
  9. Strobe Lemming's Lament 1:43
  10. Long Distance Call 4:27
  11. Feel So Bad 2:47