lol coxhill: ear of beholder
  • lol coxhill

  • ear of beholder (2 LP)

  • sku: RAD7008
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 24.90
  • $25.97

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Radiation
  • Genre: Jazz, Progressive

Ear Of Beholder is one of the most beguiling and adventurous records of the 1970s, which is saying a lot as that is a musical decade marked by groundbreaking creativity! Originally released in 1971 on John Peel's Dandelion label Lol Coxhill's sprawling double album debut is an avant-garde jazz masterstroke that features Robert Wyatt and much of the Whole World group, Kevin Ayers' backing band at the time (of which Lol was a member). Ranging from straight up feedback to reworkings of standards, outdoor recordings to spoken word, improvisation to vaudeville, Ear Of Beholder covers more ground in 2 LPs than most artists do in a lifetime. Difficult, adventurous listening from one of British jazz's most brilliant innovators.

Track Listing:

    Side A:

  • A1 Introduction
  • A2 Hungerford
  • A3 Deviation Dance
  • A4 Two Little Pigeons
  • A5 Don Alfonso
  • A6 Open Piccadilly
  • Side B:

  • B1 Feedback
  • B2 Vorblifa -Exit
  • B3 Insensatez
  • B4a A Conversation With Children
  • B4b Mango Walk
  • B5 Jamaican Rumba
  • B6 Piccadilly With Goofs
  • Side C:

  • C1 Rasa - Moods
  • Side D:

  • D1 A Collective Improvisation
  • D2 I Am The Walrus
  • D3 The Rhythmic Hooter
  • D4 Loverman
  • D5 Zoological Fun
  • D6 Little Triple One Shot
  • D7 That's Why Darkies Were Born
  • D8 A Series Of Superbly Played Mellotron Codas