thunder and roses: king of the black sunrise (purple)
  • thunder and roses

  • king of the black sunrise (purple) (LP)

  • sku: OSR094P
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 26.90
  • $28.25

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Other
  • Genre: Hard Rock, Psychedelic
  • Remastered Sound
  • Original artwork in hard cardboard sleeve
  • Fold out insert with liner notes by Klemen Breznikar (It’s Psychedelic Baby) and photos

Led by explosive guitar player Chris (later Christa) Bond, THUNDER and ROSES was a power-trio from Philly in the best tradition of Cream or the Jimi Hendrix Experience.

This is their sole album, originally released in 1969. A cult psychedelic hard-rock classic, including “White Lace and Strange”, famously covered by Nirvana.

Thunder and Roses (named after a story from The Astounding Science Fiction Anthology) started to take form when genius 18-years old guitar player Chris Bond and bassist Tom Schaffer met heavy drummer George Emme (previously of The Electric Power House). Rehearsing six days a week the trio gelled quick and soon they were playing memorable shows at venues like Electric Factory and the Trauma.

Recorded at Sigma Sound by Joe Tarcia, “King of the Black Sunrise” was released by United Artists in 1969. Dominated by Bond’s outstanding fuzz-wah guitar playing, the album featured seven original songs plus a storming cover of Hendrix’s “Red House”. Sadly, the record label took a wrong decision when refused to release the killer “White Lace and Strange” as a 45 to promote the album, choosing the mockery “Country Life” instead.

After Thunder & Roses split, guitar player and main songwriter Chris Bond had a successful career as producer, songwriter, arranger and session musician, working closely with Daryl Hall & John Oates as well as other top artists. Later in his life, Chris eventually transitioned from male to female and changed her name to Christa. She sadly passed away in 2019.

Track Listing

  • A1 White Lace And Strange 3:15
  • A2 I Love A Woman 4:37
  • A3 Country Life 2:43
  • A4 Red House 5:37
  • B1 Moon Child 4:10
  • B2 Dear Dream Maker 3:28
  • B3 King Of The Black Sunrise 3:47
  • B4 Open Up Your Eyes 7:18