los jaivas: los jaivas (aka el volantin)
  • los jaivas

  • los jaivas (aka el volantin) (LP)

  • sku: TRANS1001
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 24.99
  • $29.33

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Other
  • Genre: Progressive

Label: Transamericas

  • First official reissue on vinyl. 180 grs. Comes with gatefold cover.
  • Includes a 4-page fold-out insert with Spanish/English texts and liner notes, 24"x 24" poster and download coupon card from Transamericas' Bandcamp site.
  • Transferred from original master tapes by Alejandro Caco Lyon and Daniel Ruiz at Estudios del Sur, María Pinto, Chile.

Vinyl reissue of the now classic 1971 album. Produced by Transamericas in collaboration with the band from the original master tapes, in a fully analog process at recording studios in María Pinto (Chile), London and Haarlem (Holland).

Los Jaivas ("El Volantín") is the first LP by Chilean rock band Los Jaivas, one of South America’s biggest names in the fusion of folk roots and psychedelia during the 1970s. Los Jaivas were born in the city of Viña del Mar, with their five members determined to guide their initial sound through improvisation and experimentation, «trusting that in time a language would emerge that would give us our identity», in their own words.

This debut album (popularly known as El Volantín – The Kite –, because of its cover illustration) combined the free–flow of extended electrical pieces with more conventional three–minute songs filled with references to Chile’s popular culture and the musicians’ own upbringing. Theirs was a solitary path, not just for the band but also for the beginnings of Chilean rock. Los Jaivas blazed a trail that was rich in musical references, with ideas inspired by Jimi Hendrix, the Congolese Missa Luba, Argentinian folk (Atahualpa Yupanqui, Ariel Ramírez), South American avant–garde composers (Ginastera, Villa–Lobos, Violeta Parra), the experimentation of pianist Henry Cowell, Caribbean rhythms and Miles Davis’ trumpet re–inventions.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Cacho 5:41
  • A2 La Vaquita 7:11
  • A3 Por Veinticinco Empaná 2:59
  • A4 Tamborcito De Milagro 3:56
  • B1 Que O La Tumba Serás 3:20
  • B2 Foto De Primera Comunión 6:24
  • B3 Último Día 8:52