nihilist spasm band: no record
  • nihilist spasm band

  • no record (LP)

  • sku: LIONLP136
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 19.90
  • $22.46


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Lion
  • Genre: Psychedelic
  • From the master tapes. Huge insert with the band's story and rare photos.

Repress of 250 copies.

One of very few indie label releases on Spin Magazine's list of 100 top counter-cultural music, ahead of legends like Mulatu Astatke, Brigitte Fontaine, Parson Sound, Ornette Coleman, Sun Ra and His Solar Arkestra, Harry Partch, and Os Mutantes. Zowie!

"In 1965, eight guys from London, Ontario, decided to start a free-improv group - 'free' to the point of building their own instruments, which they decided couldn't be set up to produce specific pitches. The band got together once a week with their electric kazoos and kludged-together guitars and Art Pratten's 'pratt-a-various.' Their vocalist, schoolteacher Bill Exley, banged on a cooking pot and bellowed hilariously about stupidity and destruction and Canada. They didn't treat what they were doing as an advanced, visionary form of experimental music, but as a big, stupid, fun, ecstatic noise. By the '90s, noise artists finally recognized NSB as their ancestors - and, almost 50 years after they started, the surviving members of the Nihilist Spasm Band still play every Monday night while their children haunt loft spaces the world over." -Spin "The record youre holding is one of the masterworks of that big gray area of noise/weirdo/freak-out music. Its still hard to believe that 'No Record' was released in 1968. This was a time when popular music was still growing up, and these outsider guys from Canada came out of nowhere and made this mindfuck of record that was years ahead of itself. And as with albums like 'Trout Mask Replica', and 'The Faust Tapes', it still sounds fresh today. 'No Record' is mandatory listening." ~Lasse Marhaug.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Destroy The Nations 8:00
  • A2 When In London Sleep At The York Hotel 5:30
  • A3 The Byron Bog 10:40
  • B1 Dog Face Man 7:20
  • B2 Oh Brian Dibb 4:00
  • B3 Destroy The Nations Again 12:30