red dirt: red dirt (red vinyl)
  • red dirt

  • red dirt (red vinyl) (2 LP)

  • sku: BT5034R
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 32.90
  • $34.55

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Morgan Blue Town
  • Genre: Psychedelic

Red Dirt was a short-lived British rock band formed in 1969, hailing from the Yorkshire region. The group was composed of Steve Howden (vocals, guitar), Dave Richardson (vocals, bass), Alan Walker (drums), and Ken Giles (keyboards). Despite their brief existence, Red Dirt is known for their unique blend of blues rock, hard rock, and progressive rock, characterized by raw energy and earthy, authentic sound.

This is thbeir only album, which was originally released in 1970. It is noted for its gritty, rootsy sound, combining elements of blues, rock, and early progressive music. With its powerful riffs, soulful vocals, and atmospheric keyboards, the record captures the essence of the late 1960s and early 1970s British rock scene.

Although Red Dirt did not achieve commercial success and disbanded shortly after their album's release, their self-titled record has gained a cult following over the years. The album is appreciated for its authentic, rootsy sound and its contribution to the British rock scene of the early 1970s.

Track listing:

  • A1 Memories 2:02
  • A2 Death Letter 3:09
  • A3 Problems 3:45
  • A4 Song For Pauline 3:32
  • A5 Ten Seconds To Go 2:31
  • A6 In The Morning 2:25
  • A7 Maybe I’m Right 2:38
  • B1 Summer Madness Laced In Newbald Gold 6:10
  • B2 Death Of A Dream 5:24
  • B3 Gimme A Shot 3:28
  • B4 Brain Worker 3:10
  • B5 I’ve Been Down So Long 2:32
  • C1 Time To Move 3:22
  • C2 Easy To Come By 3:26
  • C3 Hard Times 3:48
  • C4 For Q 5:38
  • C5 Frustration Boogie 3:44
  • C6 Dreams And Nightmare Of A Plastic Ringworm 3:33
  • D1 From End To End 5:12
  • D2 Yesterday And Today 7:30
  • D3 The Circle Song 4:33
  • D4 I’d Rather Go Back 15 Years 7:37
  • D5 Tolly Cobbold 2:37