high tide: high tide
  • high tide

  • high tide (CD)

  • sku: ECLCD1038
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 11.08
  • $13.26
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Eclectic
  • Genre: Psychedelic

Originally released as Liberty LBS 83294 in July 1970. The first and maybe best album of this excellent UK progressive psych band.
In 1969, guitarist Tony Hill (ex-member of The Misunderstood, one of John Peel’s favourite bands of the 1960’s) united with violinist and keyboard player Simon House, bassist Peter Pavli and drummer Roger Hadden to form HIGH TIDE. In an age of flourishing creativity the band produced two albums of wonderfully powerful doom laden rock music. A deal with The Beatles’ Apple publishing led to them a contract with Liberty / United Artists and the recording of the album “Sea Shanties”, a stunning work that in hindsight is now regarded as being light years ahead of its time.
Doyens of the Ladbroke Grove hippy scene, HIGH TIDE were part of the Clearwater Management stable that also included cohorts HAWKWIND, SKIN ALLEY and COCHISE. 1970 saw the release of the album “High Tide”, a more structured, although equally powerful affair. An intense gigging schedule saw the band run out of steam and by 1971 the group had ceased to exist. Simon House joined experimentalists the Third Ear Band (contributing to the soundtrack to Roman Polanski’s “Macbeth”) before joining HAWKWIND in 1973. He later became a member of David Bowie’s band. Peter Pavli was to collaborate with science fantasy author Michael Moorcock in his band Deep Fix and also worked with Hawkwind’s Robert Calvert.
The Eclectic discs reissues include a plethora of previously unreleased bonus material. “Sea Shanties” includes three tracks recorded at Apple studios in March 1969 and the lengthy “The Great Universal Protection Racket” and “Time Gauges”, recorded during sessions for “Sea Shanties”. “High Tide” includes alternate versions of “The Joke”, “Blankman Cries Again” plus a different recording of “The Great Universal Protection Racket” and the previously unreleased “Ice Age”. Both expanded remastered CDs have playing times in excess of 70 minutes and include expansive booklets, including notes by Tony Hill, and slip cases.
Track listing: 1. Blankman Cries Again 8:28 2. The Joke 9:27 3. Saneonymous 14:26
Previously unreleased bonus tracks: 4. The Great Universal Protection Racket 15:45 Recorded at Morgan studios on 10th April 1970 5. The Joke 7:44 Recorded at Olympic studios, Barnes on 6th May 1970 6. Blankman Cries Again 8:25 Recorded at Olympic studios, Barnes on 6th May 1970 7. Ice Age