barney james & warhorse: koneg - the second coming (1975, uk)
  • barney james & warhorse

  • koneg - the second coming (1975, uk) (LP)

  • sku: SCLP010
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 22.90
  • $24.05

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Seelie Court
  • Genre: Progressive

The Seelie Court label features some the rarest, most sought after and most expensive British private pressings and acetates of progressive rock and folk rock from 1965-1978.

They are all vinyl 12” lps, textured covers, pressed by deepgrooves using environmental principles on presses powered by biomass consequently not shrinkwrapped to avoid unnecessary toxic plastic waste.

Seelie Court is a new archival record label with a repertoire of over 50 lps already lined up for release, most are sourced from a private collection of super rare and often completely unknown british acetate and private pressing lps dating from 1965-1978, the most valuable lps that exist. LPs like anaconda (post Arcadium) and Barney James (technically a 3rd Warhorse lp) are undocumented and have been kept in a black box for decades the label will issue progressive rock and folk rock 1965-1978 and post punk/new wave 1976-1982 on a sub label.

Audio restoration is by Reynolds Mastering, England. engineered and restored by an industry genius who specialises in complex restoration techniques utilising pure craftsmanship acquired from decades of experience, Reynolds projects range from restoring delicate decca classical recordings to 30 cd wishbone ash box sets, using a treasure trove of invaluable ex BBC studios analogue equipment and the latest digital to work sonic miracles

  • 500 pieces limited
  • gatefold

All of Warhorse back their drummer, Barney James, on his unknown 1975 heavy prog concept album, Barney writes and sings all the tracks and it contains some of the finest performances by Warhorse lifted by Barney’s superior vocal. It’s heavy but complex, laden with lead guitar and keyboards, and follows a theme of finding glory in death through the journey of Odin’s son, Koneg - yes it’s the bonafide death-prog concept album that time forgot. Some killer soloing guitar leads end the lp as Koneg, limbs torn on the battlefield, finds his personal Valhalla.

Only one copy of the lp was made as an acetate demo to try to get a record deal, but Punk ensured it was shelved. The acetate has a single andmade metallic gold cover reproduced here with added info as a gatefold, sleevenotes by Rick Wakeman - his old pal, Barney was the drummer for Wakeman during his classic mid seventies period. He also played in many other bands such as Gracious and Legend, and before that saw active service as a Commando in the British Military. The album is just 23 minutes long, it’s all that survives, and is issued with the kind permission of Barney’s two daughters. Potentially as valuable as Dark


  • A1 Koneg's Arrival
  • A2 Longships Departure
  • A3 Fanfare
  • B1 All The Prizes Taken
  • B2 Odin's Slumber