miles davis septet: live in tokyo 1973
  • miles davis septet

  • live in tokyo 1973 (2 LP)

  • sku: HH2LP3140
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 16.90
  • $17.75
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Hi Hat
  • Genre: Jazz

Miles Davis Septet, live from Shinjuku Kohseinenkin Hall, Tokyo Japan 19th June 1973

The early-to-mid 1970s marked perhaps the most unique and radical period in Miles Davis career. With bands such as Sly & The Family Stone and Parliament/Funkadelic becoming increasingly popular, Davis began to draw considerable influence from their up-tempo, electronic funk sound. By 1973, Miles was showing little sign of slowing the pace of his extraordinary workload that had continued unabated from In A Silent Way up to On The Corner and he continued to tour relentlessly worldwide. June 19th 1973 saw him take to the stage in Tokyo, Japan, playing a selection of previously recorded numbers and extended jams, in a show broadcast live across the region by NHK radio. Hi-Hat proudly presents the complete and definitive broadcast of Miles Davis; live from Shinjuku Kohseinenkin Hall, Tokyo Japan 19th June 1973. Dynamic and superior quality recording, professionally remastered with background liners and rare archival photos.

Track Listing:

  • Turnaroundphase 12.29
  • Tune In 6 9.24
  • Right Off 3.33
  • Funk [Prelude pt1] 8.34
  • Tune In 5 10.34
  • Ife 21.53
  • Agharta Prelude 9.48
  • Zimbabwe 13.30