spirogyra: old boot wine
  • spirogyra

  • old boot wine (CD)

  • sku: TECD389
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 6.99
  • $8.20

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Talking Elephant
  • Genre: Progressive

Initially formed by duo Martin Cockerham and Mark Francis in Bolton in 1968, the band expanded when Cockerham was a student in Canterbury at the end of 1969. The expanded line-up featured Martin Cockerham (guitar, vocals), Barbara Gaskin (lead vocals), Steve Borrill (bass) and Julian Cusack (violin, keyboards) and secured a contract with B&C Records in 1970. The band’s debut album was issued in 1971 and featured guest drummer Dave Mattacks and Tony Cox on VCS 3 Synthesiser. In 1972 the band’s second album was released on the Pegasus label, featuring a line-up of Martin Cockerham (guitar, vocals), Barbara Gaskin (lead vocals), Mark Francis (Vocals, Guitar, Keyboards) and Steve Borrill (bass), with guest musicians Dave Mattacks (drums), Julian Cusack (violin, keyboards), Rick Biddulph (mandolin), Alan Laing (cello). "OLD BOOT WINE” is a highly sought after and regarded album of the era.

Track Listing

  • Dangerous Dave 4:16
  • Van Allen's Belt 2:35
  • Runawey 4:55
  • Grandad 3:23
  • Wings of Thunder 3:08
  • World's Eyes 7:31
  • Don't Let It Get You 4:28
  • Disraeli's Problem 4:15
  • A Canterbury Tale 4:01
  • Counting The Cars 3:10
  • Window 2:11
  • Turn Again Lane 7:37
  • Melody Maker Man 2:44