gravy train: second birth
  • gravy train

  • second birth (LP)

  • sku: BLB4872
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 16.90
  • $17.75
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Blue Butterfly
  • Genre: Progressive
  • 180 gram vinyl
  • gatefold sleeve
  • original artwork

Formed in Lancashire in 1969, Gravy Train was fronted by guitarist and vocalist Norman Barratt, along with J.D. Hughes on keyboards, flute and saxophones, Les Williams on bass and Barry Davenport on drums. The band first came to public attention when they signed to Vertigo Records in 1970. Gravy Train recorded two classic Progressive Rock albums for the label before signing with Pye Records’ Progressive label, Dawn in 1973.

“Second Birth” was the band’s first album for Dawn Records, by which time Gravy Train had added guitarist Ross Caldwell to their ranks. Issued in 1973, the album was a fine collection of Progressive Rock music that took in influences from bands such as Jethro Tull, Roland Kirk et al.

Track Listing

  • A1 Morning Coming
  • A2 Peter
  • A3 September Morning News
  • A4 Motorway
  • B1 Fields And Factories
  • B2 Strength Of A Dream
  • B3 Tolpuddle Episode
  • B4 Second Birth