jimmy campbell: son of anastasia
  • jimmy campbell

  • son of anastasia (CD)

  • sku: ECLEC2106
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 6.99
  • $8.31
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Esoteric
  • Genre: Progressive

Originally released in 1969, Son of Anastasia was the debut album by one of Liverpool's finest musicians, Jimmy Campbell. Previously a member of The Kirkby s and 23rd Turnoff (who recorded Campbell's Michaelangelo as a single for Deram Records), Campbell s solo career began ith this album (produced by John Cameron who had earlier worked with Donovan) which featured material both of aching beauty and melancholia such as the excellent On a Monday and his reworking of Michaelangelo. "

As with the music of Bill Fay (another songwriter whose work enjoyed a re-evaluation in recent times), Campbell's work is ripe for rediscovery. Recently hailed by Mojo magazine as a buried treasure, this re-mastered CD release of Son of Anastasia is long overdue as tribute to the work of Jimmy Campbell who sadly passed away in 2007. "

When I Sit Down To Reason / Mothers Boy / Another Vincent Van Gogh / Penny In My Pocket / Bright Side Of The Hill / Dear Marge / Lyanna / They All Came Marching Home / On A Monday / Lovely Elisa Cope Is Dead / You Ll Break My Heart In Two / Tremendous Commercial Potential / Adrian Henri S Party Night / Another Springtime S Passed Me By / Michaelangelo / Painting A Song / Bonus Track - Frankie Joe"