jan dukes de grey: sorcerers
  • jan dukes de grey

  • sorcerers (LP)

  • sku: FOX028
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 17.90
  • $19.21

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Alternative Fox
  • Genre: Psychedelic

'Sorcerers' is the group's debut, when Jan Dukes de Grey were still the duo of multi-instrumentalists Derek Noy, the band's songwriter and lead vocalist, and Michael Bairstow. The 18 songs of the album recorded in October 1969 show within a pure folk style the subtle use of multiple instruments like guitars, woodwinds, brass, keyboards, and percussion. Every song conjures up its own time and place, from the quiet pastoral delights of '28th June, Village Song' to the urban pulse of 'City After 3.00 AM,' the homage to the vast expanses of an idealized 'Texas,' and the Eastern promise of 'Turkish Time.' Moods shift dramatically from the anger-drenched 'M.S.S.' to the medieval musings of 'Dragons' and the wonder of a 'Butterfly.' One of the most brilliant acoustic experiments of folk-psych-prog rock ever.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Dragons
  • A2 Rags, Old Iron
  • A3 28th June, Village Song
  • A4 High Priced Room
  • A5 Sorcerers
  • A6 Ode To A Schoolgirl
  • A7 The Cheering Crowd
  • A8 Out Of The Eastern Hills
  • A9 M.S.S.
  • A10 Texas
  • A11 Yorkshire Indian Sitting In The Sun
  • B1 Wonder Child
  • B2 Dominique
  • B3 Trust Me Now
  • B4 Forms
  • B5 City After 3.00 Am
  • B6 Butterfly
  • B7 Turkish Time