alcatraz: vampire state building
  • alcatraz

  • vampire state building (LP)

  • sku: LHC122
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 19.99
  • $22.22

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Long Hair
  • Genre: Progressive
  • official reissue
  • remastered from the original masters
  • exact reissue
  • insert with photos and band history
  • 1 bonus track

A classic rock album, released in Germany in 1972 by Hamburg quintet Alcatraz.

Most successful was the 12 minutes "Simply Headphone Mind". The 13 minutes title track was a long improvisation with lots of fuzz guitar. According to Dag Erik Asbjornsen "Vampire State Building" is currently one of the most intensive German albums in the jazz-rock genre, making full use of the dynamic sound range (and with that special krautrock feel).

The Freeman brothers (The crack in the cosmic egg) write that the music features fuzzed guitars and effects overdose in a heavy bluesy over-the-top Krautrock akin to Frumpy and Nosferatu.

Track Listing:

  • A1 Simple Headphone Mind 10:00
  • A2 Your Chance Of A Lifetime 5:06
  • A3 Where The Wild Things Are 3:02
  • B1 Vampire State Building 13:09
  • B2 Piss Off 3:18
  • B3 Change Will Come 6:08