the search party: montgomery chapel
  • the search party

  • montgomery chapel (LP)

  • sku: LIONLP120
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 24.90
  • $27.72
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Lion
  • Genre: Psychedelic
  • The only authorized reissue of this psychedelic masterpiece
  • 180g vinyl edition comes in an old-style tip-on jacket
  • A holy grail for collectors of psychedelia
  • Insert with info and band history by band leader Nick Freund and photos from his personal archive

Search Party was the brainchild of (then Reverend) Nicholas Freund. Having left Wisconsin to join a burgeoning West Coast religious scene, Freund made his way to San Francisco in 1968 to lay down this sole effort with some of his students. The result is a spooky trip that’s equal parts acid-soaked mind expansion and God.

Laced with haunting vocals and dreamlike passages, sinister farfisa, blasts of fuzz guitar and downer lyrics, Montgomery Chapel is psychedelic music at its most evocative and thanks to its depth and sense of anxiety, most truly spiritual. The ominous nine-minute drifter 'So Many Things Have Got Me Down,' for example, tackles the difficulties of an unfulfilled married life, depression and spiritual apathy, all while riding a stripped down, grooving beat.

If you can imagine a lo-fi United States of America/Jefferson Airplane hybrid, you have an idea of how cool this band sounds. Only 600 copies were pressed and issued on the custom Century label; they've become holy grails of collectors. Artists as disparate as Current 93's David Tibet and Sonic Boom have heaped praise on it. We're thrilled to give this lost classic a proper reissue.

Track Listing:

  • Speak To Me
  • Rene Child
  • Melayna
  • So Many Things Have Got Me Dawn
  • You And I
  • All But This
  • Poem By George Hall
  • The Decidedly
  • The News is You