giles, giles & fripp: the brondesbury road tapes
  • giles, giles & fripp

  • the brondesbury road tapes (CD)

  • sku: VP235CD
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 6.99
  • $7.67
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Voiceprint
  • Genre: Progressive

The Giles brothers were the fraternal rhythm section with six bands, 'Johnny King And The Raiders', 'Dave Anthony And The Rebels', 'The Dowland Brothers And The Soundtracks', 'The Sands', 'The Interns', 'Trendsetters Ltd' and 'The Brain'. Six singles were released by the 'Dowland Brothers' and 'Trendsetters Ltd' with two additional releases by 'The Trend' and 'The Brain' in 1967. Michael and Peter Giles toured with 'Trendsetters Ltd' supporting the original 'Drifters' backing Bo Diddley, 'Napoleon X1V' and Gene Vincent. They appeared on television shows and played live on several radio broadcasts including BBC Radio 1's 'Easybeat' and the group's own four programme series.

The brothers recruited a third member of the band and Robert Fripp joined who was inventive as well as being a competent guitarist. 'The Brondesbury Tapes' are a unique set of domestic recordings and had languished for over thirty years in a private collection. They were the swan song of a provincial three piece band who moved to London to seek fame and fortune with their music. The spirit of the band survived and reincarnated as the legendary King Crimson. This is the first time that these recordings have been available Cd and have been digitally remastered for this format and incorporating previously unreleased material. The running time excluding tracks between tracks is 72 minutes which offers great value for money. The sleeve notes written by Peter Giles are highly detailed and feature previously unpublished photographs which will appeal to the large and loyal King Crimson fanbase who will snap up this wonderful and historic recording.

Track Listing:

  • Hypocrite
  • Digging My Lawn
  • Tremelo Study In A Major
  • Newly Weds
  • Suite In C
  • Scrivens
  • Make It Today
  • Digging My Lawn
  • why Don't You Just Drop In?
  • I Talk To The Wind
  • Under The Sky
  • Plastic Pennies
  • Passages Of Time
  • Under The Sky
  • Murder
  • I Talk To The Wind
  • Erudite Eyes
  • Make It Today
  • Wonderland
  • Why Don't You Just Drop In?
  • She Is Loaded