pete brown and his battered ornaments: a meal you can shake hands with in the dark
  • pete brown and his battered ornaments

  • a meal you can shake hands with in the dark (CD)

  • sku: REPUK1113
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 7.11
  • $7.69

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: CD
  • Label: Repertoire
  • Genre: Progressive

Digipack CD"

• Now finally available - the remastered recordings approved by Pete Brown himself.""


• Pete Brown reveals the origins of the Ornaments in an exclusive new interview with Chris Welch for the authoritative and detailed liner notes. ""


• The Battered Ornaments' debut album, originally released in 1969.""


• Total running time: 64' 55".""


• Available in our very desirable digipak format.""


• 2 bonus tracks - including a single A-side and a previously unreleased track.""


Expertly remastered in the studio by Jon Astley (who has worked on recordings by George Harrison, Led Zeppelin, the Who, and many others). These classic recordings havenever sounded so good! "


The Battered Ornaments was an ambitious rock band organised by poet and lyricist Pete Brown in the late Sixties. Brown is best known as the co-writer of Cream's greatest hits. However, he has also led a long and active career as bandleader, composer, producer and singer. "


The Battered Ornaments included Pete Brown on vocals and trumpet with Chris Spedding (guitar), Charlie Hart (organ) and Rob Tait (drums).'A Meal You Can Shake Hands With In The Dark',the group's obliquely titled 1969 debut,was produced by the late saxophonist Dick Heckstall-Smith, who also guests on some of the tracks. "


With strong solo support from Chris Spedding and such distinctive songs as 'Dark Lady', 'Station Song' and the Jack Bruce/Pete Brown classic 'The Politician', this rewarding CD is rich in lyrical flights of fancy, matched by heavy rock musicianship. "


Track listing:"


1. Dark Lady ""

2. The Old Man ""

3. Station Song ""

4. The Politican ""

5. Rainy Taxi Girl ""

6. Morning Call ""

7. Sandcastle ""

8. Travelling Blues - ""

Or The New Used Jews Dues Blues"


Bonus tracks"

9. The Week Looked Good On Paper (Single)""

Security Blues (Unreleased)"