brainticket: cottonwoodhill (+ bonus cd)
  • brainticket

  • cottonwoodhill (+ bonus cd) (LP)

  • sku: LR313LP
  • Condition: Brand New In Stock
  • 21.90
  • $23.00

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Lilith
  • Genre: Psychedelic

180g vinyl gatefold plus bonus cd

Being as LSD was first developed in a laboratory in Basel, it is perhaps no coincidence that one of the most “far out” albums of all time was made by this Swiss band (no small feat, given the competition!). Brainticket’s 1971 debut, Cottonwoodhill, begins normally enough with two fine psychedelic / kraut rock-influenced tracks, but the remainder of the album plays like an acid trip with a soundtrack, dominated by Joel Vandroogenbroeck’s endless droning organ, a variety of musique concrète-type sound effects and vocalist Dawn Muir’s trippy vocals. The album, banned in several countries, even came with this self-imposed warning: “After Listening to this Record, your friends may not know you anymore." / "Only listen to this once a day, your brain might be destroyed!”.

Tracks - Side A: 1 Black Sand 2. Places of Light 3. Brainticket, Pt. I Side B: 1. Brainticket, Pt. I  - Conclusion / Pt. II