fuchsia: fuchsia ( color vinyl)
  • fuchsia

  • fuchsia ( color vinyl) (LP)

  • sku: MJJ355LP
  • Condition: Brand New Back Order
  • 17.90
  • $20.82
  • You can only place this item in your reserve list.

Customers who bought this also bought:


  • Format: LP
  • Label: Klimt
  • Genre: Progressive

LP with printed inner sleeve and 3 bonus tracks. Fuchsia's 1971 LP is a lost gem of experimental British progressive rock (in the vein of Henry Cow and Comus). The band was formed by lead singer and guitarist Tony Durant during his days at Exeter University. Wanting to write songs outside of the standard pop format, Durant had the innovative idea of bringing in an all-female string section, which included fellow Exeter students, Madeleine Bland (Cello), Janet Rogers (Violin) and Vanessa Hall-Smith (Viola). Fuchsia's self-titled first (and last) album was recorded in summer of 1971, and the band (all students) was determined to tour during their next holiday. But the best laid plans often come undone, and Fuchsia soon dissolved with Durant eventually moving to Australia. Though virtually unnoticed at the time of its release, this album through the years became a "holy grail" amongst fans of early '70s UK psychedelia and orchestrated hippie-folk.
SIDE A: 1. Gone With The Mouse 2. A Tiny Book 3. Another Nail. 4. Shoes And Ships.
SIDE B: 1. The Nothing Song 2. Me And My Kite 3. Just Anyone 4. The Band (bonus) 5. Ragtime Brahms (bonus) 6. Ring Of Red Roses (bonus).